fostering a grateful spirit

"If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams, and you will always look lovely." -Roald Dahl

healthy pumpkin dark chocolate muffins

Leave a comment

20120926-225100.jpg

okay, I found this recipe on pinterest (where else!?!), which led me to this blog.
I adapted it a little to match my tastes/what I had in my kitchen/making it even a little bit healthier. According to myfitnesspal, these muffins have 154.2 calories and only 3.9 grams of fat (I did 12 large muffins), so eat to your pumpkin-loving-heart’s content.

1.5 c whole wheat flour (I used King Arthur’s unbleached white whole wheat flour. I am not advocating for them, just sharing info)
1/8 c chia seeds
2 t baking powder
1/2 t cinnamon (I probably actually used a little more. I really like cinnamon.)
1/4 t salt
dash (shake or two) of nutmeg
dash of ground clove
1 c canned pumpkin puree
2 large eggs, beaten
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1/2 c skim milk
1/3 c unsweetened applesauce
1 t vanilla
1/2 c dark chocolate (the stuff I had was in chunks, so I took the food processor to it)

Preheat your oven to 350.

Mix all dry items in a large bowl (flour, chia seeds, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, clove).
In a medium bowl, mix eggs, brown sugar, pumpkin, milk, applesauce, and vanilla.
When well mixed, add the wet ingredient mix in with the dry ingredients. Mix together until moistened. Stir in chocolate chips.

I used silicone baking cups, and probably could have ended up with closer to 14 or 15 muffins, but I had already figured out the nutrition information and I didn’t feel like re-doing it. If you’re not using liners, I’d recommend lightly spraying your muffin pan. You can do 24-ish mini muffins, and bake 15-18 minutes (I haven’t tried that size yet), or make 12-15 regular sized muffins for 20-22 minutes. 20 was about perfect in our oven.

I love baking with applesauce, and it helps keep the calories very low, but, in my experience, things do spoil a little bit quicker than when I bake with oil. These aren’t going to last long enough for that to be a concern for me (the hubs is a big fan too), but I did want to caution you if you won’t go through them quickly. The oil/applesauce conversion is 1 for 1, so if you prefer oil, it’d be 1/3 cup canola oil instead of the applesauce.

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Comment

