fostering a grateful spirit

"If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams, and you will always look lovely." -Roald Dahl

hope {160}

Leave a comment

20130117-233505.jpg
today I looked outside at 415 and it was still sunny! to anyone not familiar with Chicago winters, this may be insignificant, but here in Chicago where we are beginning the worst part of winter (the part where it is literally so cold and windy your body hurts), any reminder that spring is on it’s way is so wonderful. it’s still cold and I still don’t love it, but sometimes all you need to get through the coldest, darkest days is a reminder that something better is coming, even if it takes longer than you hope.
I had an amazing discipleship group leader and friend who I met during probably the darkest, hardest seasons of my life (and also hers). she used to tell me about how she loves tulips because the bulbs get planted in the fall and bloom in the spring, and sometimes all you need is a reminder that when everything feels dark and cold and dead, that indeed there is something living, beautiful, growing, we just can’t see it yet. I pray that that picture will encourage you as it does me, every time I see a tulip.
don’t give up hope. the cold and dark aren’t endless. something beautiful is coming!

Leave a Comment

