fostering a grateful spirit

"If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams, and you will always look lovely." -Roald Dahl

complements and gratefulness {day 168}

Leave a comment

20130126-001348.jpg

20130126-001353.jpg

tonight I’m grateful for movements like this one, which encourage people (in this case high school kids) to find ways to encourage each other. I don’t know how connected you are to high school students, but I have spent hours over coffee or in one-on-ones at camp comforting crying girls (or crying with them) because of the absolutely horrific things high school kids do and say to each other. it’s like they spend 8 hours a day (at least) living in the movie Mean Girls…except it’s not funny at all. so when I see things like this, and overhear young life friends talking about compliments they posted, it fills my heart with joy and hope.

I’m also grateful today for early morning picture messages from small group girls who are already using their anthropologie initial mugs (which they got last night). so fun. also grateful for their absolute craziness, “texts” with more emoticons than words, and for my sweet friend katie who overcame a big fear in gymnastics today. đŸ™‚ good job, lady!!

20130126-002146.jpg

and last but not least, I’m thankful that I somehow managed to get up early this morning to make tea and lunch for the hubs, and oatmeal for myself, and for the several times hubby went out of his way to thank me and tell me he appreciated it. I feel loved.

Leave a Comment

