fostering a grateful spirit

"If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams, and you will always look lovely." -Roald Dahl

generous {day 186}

Leave a comment

today I am full of gratitude that I am surrounded by so many amazingly generous people. Three years ago I dreamed up this idea where the theater I work for would do a fundraiser for Children’s Memorial. I suggested that, on a certain day, we donate 10% of the proceeds from a transaction to Children’s if the customer mentioned they were there for the fundraiser. I emailed the owner and asked him his thoughts, and he said “of course! but lets do 50% of the transaction!” so cool.
That first year was a little rough (I was still very new and we were still pretty slow), but last year we were able to donate a little over $500-more than 5 times what we had raised the year before. I also had some amazing prizes donated which we were able to raffle.
I am truly blessed to know so many generous people who encourage me to dream bigger!
This girl, one of my students when I taught, is the reason that I realized how important Children’s (now Lurie’s) is:

20130212-233949.jpg
if you’d like to read more of her amazing story, check out my dance marathon page.

also great (though far less meaningful), today is my favorite day in February!

20130212-234221.jpg
summer please come faster!

Leave a Comment

