fostering a grateful spirit

"If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams, and you will always look lovely." -Roald Dahl

Memorial Day {day 292} (late)

Leave a comment

20130528-100929.jpg

20130528-100941.jpg

20130528-100948.jpg

20130528-100956.jpg

20130528-101000.jpg

20130528-101005.jpg

I am grateful for all those (including my Great Grandpa) who paid the ultimate price fighting to protect our country and our freedoms.
I am also grateful that I had the amazing opportunity to visit my Great Grandfather’s grave in the Netherlands during my trip to Paris a few years back. While I was there, looking upon thousands of graves, I couldn’t help but think how different things may have been if these men had made it home. What would have changed if my grandpa had grown up with a dad? What would have changed if all these men had been able to go home to their families, pursue other careers, continue to change the world? So many (10,000 buried at this cemetery) lives given to protect our freedoms, our land, our lives.
War is controversial, some more than others, but I will forever be grateful for the brave men and women who give everything to protect our country and our rights. Thank you, Great-Grandpa, for being so brave.

Leave a Comment

